A Words Look: “These Days” by Jackson Browne

These Days is one of my favorite Jackson Browne songs. As I have aged, it has also slowly crept up the ladder for a permanent top-tier spot in my heart and soul.

Middle-agedness seeps from every word and note of this song. Life at a crossroads; the point in life where one contemplates the past and begins to fear the future. It is just a beautiful song.

Surprisingly, one of the first songs a teenage Jackson Browne wrote. Remarkable.

Absolutely, positively, mother-loving remarkable.

“These Days”

Well I’ve been out walking
I don’t do that much talking these days
These days-
These days I seem to think a lot
About the things that I forgot to do
For you
And all the times I had the chance to

And I had a lover
It’s so hard to risk another these days
These days-
Now if I seem to be afraid
To live the life I have made in song
Well it’s just that I’ve been losing so long

I’ll keep on moving
Things are bound to be improving these days
These days-
These days I sit on corner stones
And count the time in quarter tones to ten, my friend
Don’t confront me with my failures
I had not forgotten them

One response to “A Words Look: “These Days” by Jackson Browne

  1. “These Days” has always been one of my favorites, too. At 61 … 62 in another month and a half … I’ve more or less taken it on as my anthem.

    What’s hard is to not be consumed by regret, which is sometimes very tough to do.

    Trust me, every single one of my failures remain firmly etched in my mind.
    If you’re at all interested, stop on by my blog … under “songs”, you’ll find my rendition of “These Days”. Nothing fancy (and apologies in advance for the singing voice) – I just thought I’d share it with you.

    jcox1953.wordpress.com/songs

    Thanks for posting. Take care,
    Jeff

Leave a Reply

